This map highlights American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian Areas and also ecoregions in the U.S. in relation to the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) National Risk Index (NRI) and the percent Indigenous population by U.S. county. Together, these data create a visual representation of where federal- and state-recognized Native Peoples live in the United States, lands and environments in which they are situated, and to recognize broadly areas of greater risk. While not all tribes are visible on this map at this resolution, included are 827 Federal and State recognized Tribal Nations, with tribal boundaries marked in yellow; these boundaries are not fully representative of usual and accustomed lands, unceded territories, or traditional homelands, and represents only the land-base acknowledged by treaties or other legal agreement. As the information on the map comes from the U.S. 2020 Census, note that: there are many more non-federal or state-recognized Indigenous Peoples, Nations, and Communities not represented on this map; while U.S. territories are home to many Indigenous Peoples, such as Samoans and Taíno, the territories/lands are not represented on this map; and while Canada, Cuba, and Mexico are visible, the Indigenous Peoples and First Nations are not identified.

Click to Launch ArcGIS Dashboard